

Executive Award Call for Nominations

Nominations are now being accepted from municipalities and individuals in Northeastern Ontario for the FONOM Executive Award to be presented at the upcoming FONOM Conference in the City of Greater Sudbury.

The following is a description of the purpose of the award and eligibility requirements.

Purpose

The purpose of this award is to honour an individual member of FONOM who has contributed in a special and meaningful way toward the enrichment and betterment of the lives of the residents of Northeastern Ontario and who has exerted tireless efforts over a period of years in promoting the objectives of FONOM regionally and provincially.

Who is eligible? To qualify for the Executive Award, recipients must have served in an elected office in one of the municipalities within the FONOM membership district.

When are the awards presented?

The award is presented concurrent with the annual FONOM Conference. The recipient and their nominator will be notified in advance of the awards ceremony.

When is the deadline for nominations?

Any person or organization can nominate an individual by completing the following nomination form and sending the signed form to the address below, no later than **April 5th**, **2024**.

Previous recipients of the FONOM Executive Award are:

- 1997 Joe Mavrinac, Kirkland Lake
- 1998 John Hodder, Manitoulin
- 1999 Marcel Noel, West Nipissing
- 2000 Fred Poulin, Smooth Rock Falls2001 Vic Power, City of Timmins
- 2002 Austin Hunt, Manitoulin
- 2003 Jim Gordon, Sudbury
- 2004 Richard Adams, Parry Sound
- 2005 Phyllis Floyd, Former Executive Director, Sudbury
- 2006 Henry (Chick) Goertzen, Township of Laird
- 2008 Ellwood McKinnon, Township of Johnson
- 2009 George Farkouh, City of Elliot Lake
- 2010 John Rowswell, Sault Ste. Marie
- 2011 Michael "J.J." Doody, Timmins
- 2012 Frank Gillis, Espanola
- 2013 Austin Hunt, Billings
- 2014 Stephen Butland, Sault Ste. Marie
- 2015 Vyrn Peterson, Blind River
- 2016 Tom Laughren, Timmins
- 2017 Alan Spacek, Kapuskasing
- 2018 Jamie McGarvey, Parry Sound
- 2019 Mac Bain, North Bay
- 2020 Merrill Bond, Charlton and Dack
- 2021 Georges Bilodeau, Huron Shores
- 2022 Lynn Watson, Township of Macdonald, Meredith & Aberdeen Additional
- 2023 Councillor Paul Borneman, Town of Parry Sound

Need more information?

Further information and nomination forms may be obtained from:

Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities

Address: 615 Hardy Street North Bay, Ontario P1B 8S2

Email: fonom.info@gmail.com

Nominations must be submitted by April 5th so please submit your nomination forms as soon as possible. Thank you!